Tags

, ,

Better Luck Next Time…

The takbo.ph support group who never allowed me not to stop at the booth!

The takbo.ph support group who never allowed me not to stop at the booth!

I keep telling everyone that I’m not really targeting any time at all because my I still have a pair of sore legs due to the last long run that I had 2 days before the race; however, at the back of my mind, I was really after for 2hours 15 minutes.

Jix debut half marathon: The Killer Pace

Jix debut half marathon: The Killer Pace

Bang!  The race has just started.  I was not at my typical speed then because I tried pacing with an agile member of takbo.ph Jix. We were like doing 5min/km thinking that I can do a positive split.

Mark on his first half marathon too!

Mark on his first half marathon too!

After the 2nd Km. I slowed down.  I told myself that meeting the 5Km mark would still be good at 30 min and I was successful in meeting it; I met other takbo.ph peeps like Marvs, MarkHernandez and Chris the Exfatrunner on the road but it was Bongyu’s presence that bothered me.  I have tried catching up with him until I gave up at the 11th Km.  I couldn’t see him anymore.

Bongyu:  A 21Km Comeback

Bongyu: A 21Km Comeback

I was already walking and preoccupied at 12thKm; however, as I reached the 13thKm, my mind was again enlightened by the sight of the takbo.ph support group.  I had a full stop at that point because they wouldn’t allow me to move until I had the taste of their hospitality.

Pepsi, waiting to pace me...

Pepsi, waiting to pace me...

Pepsi and Carina started to pace me at that point too.  I told Carina not to let me go down below the 7min/Km pace but my weary legs can’t do it any further and I stopped at all the hydration stations.

Pacer 1

Pacer 1

Pacer 2: Time Keeper

Pacer 2: Time Keeper

Last 1.5Km.  I told Pepsi and Carina that I just wanted to walk but they didn’t allow me.  Push! That’s all I can hear… Breathe! That’s another word.  Last 300meter until they left me.  I finished at 2:22:57.  It was not my personal record; however, with the 3 half marathon that I joined with MILO this year, it was my most improved record.  Last July was 2:28, San Pablo in September was 2:32 (I saw the time stopped before my eyes at 2:31) and now at 2:22 is not bad after all.

The gift of friendship at those that is really a good deal; to the takbo.ph awesome support group, what could possibly go wrong?

thanks for the photographers and the peeps who took my camera…

enjoy it here:

The 33rd Milo Marathon Finals Set 1

The 33rd Milo Marathon Finals Set 2

My Result at the MILO Site

