Tags

, , , , ,

“Fun is better than winning.” - Oaqui

 

The Ad

After our grisly quest to Km 160 and 102, Earl (The Running Gramps) and Allan AKA j3j3RNR thought of joining a fun event; the Blackberry-Endure Aquathlon. The three of us settled on the CURVE Category (400m swim, 3K run) than doing BOLD (600m swim, 5K run) so as not to jive with the more serious Multi-sport athletes (I dreamt of going podium as well – dream on!) not realizing there are some competitive athletes as well on our category.

 

 

I honestly believe that something is wrong with my foot work.

 

Although this will be just a fun event, it doesn’t mean that there will be no competition going on among us. Earl kept on bullying me telling me to prepare on my alibis if I lost on our mini-match, Allan remain silent though and laughing on our trash-talks, he claimed that he didn’t really prepare for it (or maybe he was just trying to be the black horse).

 

Transition

The race began with me leading of course, haha, yet I noticed that kids who were parts of our wave were the ones who are outswimming us! What the h***! These kids were throwing us waters right into our mouth! What a shame!

As what my shirt says, Di masyadong mabilis...

After a couple of minutes I moved to transition and ran!  I keep on grasping for air; oh maybe I need more practice.  One young runner overtook me and I never managed to overtake any runners, I was even tempted to walk on some hilly part of the race but I tried not to just to save my ass from humiliation.  The only bragging rights I  can tell is maybe the fact that Earl didn’t out swim or outrun me and so did Allan, good think it was just 3K, haha! (COWARD!)

Don't you think they support me all the way? Thanks Rico for the "Bragging Rights Mug"

Anyway, I know I can’t have best of both worlds, I need to train more on this aspect as this was definitely not my cup of tea yet but I might be willing to try it over again.  We had fun!  Thanks Team Endure for giving us stuff like this.

All the way support from Cherry, Yan and Marky

Keep on coming!

 

 

Photos courtesy of Raisa Tan, Glo Arbatin, KB Runner and Cherry Bautista

