I CAN (My Milo Story)

You can when you believe…

The Argonaut finisher his 2nd half mary at 2:28:04(unofficial)
The Argonaut finisher his 2nd half mary at 2:28:04(unofficial)

All of us were so excited in the 33rd Milo Marathon, not to mention that this will be my first time to be a part of it. Yes, I signed for 21Km but I’m not really sure on how I am going to finish it.  I just told myself that this will just be just one of my long slow distance (LSD) runs becuase I’m not sure if I can beat my previous PR of 2:37:XX in the last Condura Run. Come SUnday and I’m sure thatI will just be few of the bottom 100.

Things had change when Coach Mar (Pojie) asked me about my plans on my half mary, of course without hesitation, I told him that I’m not going to take it seriously because I  think that I’m not going to make it on time. The 2hours and 30 minutes cut off is still way out of my league.  Mar told me that I can do it and all I need to do is break the 21Km into segments and make some goal settings. I had a realization then and told myself “Hey, Why not try it!”

Pojie, who gave me the path in finishing the 21Km right.
Pojie, who gave me the path in finishing the 21Km right.

I did!

Bang!  The race started.  I Bongz had mentioned that they will be just on a 7min/Km pace but I told them that I will not be able to maintain that because I might go tired sooner and I might start to walk.  I am still afraid still to try the negative split that they were all talking about thinking that it might not really work for me.  I started to do it my own way.  I galloped on my first 5Km and end up at 31min, 1:05 at 10Km mark. 1:42 at 15Km, and finally 2:28 at finish line. I could say that I still struggle in the race.  Had some cramps at my last Km and still thought that I’m not going to make it, yet I believed in myself and I’m so proud about it for I have improved by almost 10min on my previous 21Km.

Argonaut's priceless memory...
Argonaut's priceless memory... (photo taken by Chelly)

I did it because I believed that I can, but still, this would not be possible without my running friends.  The takbo.ph aid station (the people in red) did really take part in my success. Their chant, their cheer really gave us an extra power. Extra energy as what I could say.  The energy drinks, and the damp towel help a lot but it’s actually their support are the one that made us finish it.

Registration fee in this event – 150 Php

Milo 300 grams pack – 65 Php

1.5L of  energy drink I bought prior to the race – 78Php

Finshing a 21Km race and sharing your success with your friends – Priceless!

My Takbo.ph Group
My Takbo.ph Group
19 thoughts on “I CAN (My Milo Story)

  1. congratulations Rodel! basta keep on singing “I believe I can fly.. I believe I can touch the sky” … “Just spread ur wings and fly… butterfly” =D

  2. Congrats, Rodel on your 21k finish! Besting your time and running with your running friends are indeed… priceless!

  3. “Whether you think that you can, or that you can’t, you are usually right” – Henry Ford

    it’s like sir pojie is your yoda, and you’re his padawan.

    congrats on breaking the 2:30 barrier! i’m sure you’d have more success in later half marathons. just keep on believing!

    P.S. adding you to my blogroll

  4. Kuya Rodel! What’s up? Great Job! Believe the impossible and it will happen. In the Bible in says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” Philippians 4:13. Hmmm, masarap inumin ang milo 🙂

  5. Hey Argo, great job! I’m happy for in realizing that if you focus on a target, you’re able to achieve it. Cheering you on in setting a new PR on your Globe Run. (I still think your nyort-nyorts was a contributing factor to your speed. Haha!)

    1. Hi Steven, I just read your blog too! Galing! Pictures were taken by Chelly using my camera ang I’m giving her the credit for that. See you on the next races to come!

  6. Late read again..:)

    Am glad Rodel. Just at the mention of you finishing ahead of your target is enough. What’s best now is that YOU did it on your own, and bested your previous time by a margin you can’t believe! Am happy for your accomplishment. Am proud of you.

    Thanks for believing in yourself.

    Am just here to guide. You still will have to decide what you will do.

    And yes, that’s what friends are for. 🙂

  7. congratulations argo! i also tried maintaining a 7 pace, but felt like i ran out of gas in km16. will stick to my original strategy next time of starting slow and finishing strong =)

    congrats again!

  8. I am so proud of you Argow. You always had the speed. Conditioning was there naman. It was always a matter of developing that mental resolve and toughness. As the situation called for it, your potential manifested itself. Very happy for you my friend, amazing feat! Just goes to show that if you put your mind to it, there are no limits!

  9. Congrats for finishing! I also did 21k at Milo. Does anyone know when the official results are coming out?

    BTW, nice meeting you at the Reach Run earlier today. See you at the races!

    – Ivan

Leave a Reply

