HILLS THERE AND EVERYWHERE (33rd Milo Marathon, San Pablo)

’m just done with the hills… Oh no there’s another! and another!

 

 

They're all heading for the school bus!
They're all heading for the school bus! Photocredit: Chelly

 

 

 

 

Picture pace!
Picture pace!

I have been registered by Prince in the 10K for the Milo Eliminations in San Pablo City, Laguna, although I already have an inkling that I’ll be running 21K, for Sam the Running Ninja already declined his presence on the event due to an emergency that he need to attend to. Oh yes, without hesitations I took Sam’s Bib the moment Pojie offered it to me though I don’t have any plans on how I am going to attack the race.
The race started in the heart of San Pablo just in front of their Municipal Hall. Gunned at 5:30, a number of runners raced as the 21K started. Hills right at the first few meters but good thing was the slope’s going down. Roy, Gab, Prince and Cindy (her 21K début) were with me. It was fun at the first few K’s. Great ambiance, nice scenery of nature and drizzling rain is totally perfect for a PR. I keep telling to myself that this will just be one of my LSD’s but at the back of my mind I want to beat the 2:30 cut off time set.
The funny thing that occurred was that we were the last runners. We really don’t care about it but I was just really amused by the fact that we are really at the tail. During the race, I realized that there are only three groups of people that could possibly join the event.
1. The Elites – Those who are really aiming to beat the 1:15 (men) and 1:35 (women) cut of time to be at the finals.
2. Laguna Based People – Those who are just near to the place.
3. The Addicts – Which includes takbo.ph peeps.

Feeling the Victory: Not a bad idea
Feeling the Victory: Not a bad idea

I also felt a few peculiar stuffs during the race. I think it’s really different if you’re running in the province. People were really not use to see you racing. You can hear the bystanders’ comments like “Ay naglalakad na sya”… (Oh he’s walking now!) or “Pagod na o!” (He’s tired!). I even heard a guy who shouted like this “Ang taba!” (He’s fat!). I looked at my back to see if anyone’s there aside from me and realized that I’m the only runner there… Darn! He’s pertaining to me… (LOL!) Anyway… I just ignored it as if I did not hear a word and left.
All in all, I believed that the race was a really a challenge for me. It’s like there were hills all throughout. Not to mention the locations of hydration stations that were like 3.5Km apart and the last 5km where the hydration station is already abandoned. The rain that poured that day was really a blessing because it helped me out a lot!

Thanks to everyone who made this possible especially to Lord God!

 

The Unforgettable Class Pic with Mayor George Estregan Jr.
The Unforgettable Class Pic with Mayor George Estregan Jr.

 

Post Race Lunch! Big Time!
Post Race Lunch! Big Time!

 

Acknowledgment to Chelly and Marky for Some Pictures.

Julie for Uploading it for me.

Enjoy the flickr Pictures

3 thoughts on “HILLS THERE AND EVERYWHERE (33rd Milo Marathon, San Pablo)

  1. In fairness maganda yung running form mo dun sa “picture pace.” Ako nga habang papalapit sa Finish line may nadinig akong nag-uusap “O sino naman yan?” kasi parating ng rin yung mga 21K elite runners nung oras na yun akala siguro kasama ako dun (eh 10K lang naman ako hehe).

    Congrats! 😀

Leave a Reply

