It’s a Lifestyle

  First, we make our habits, then our habits make us. – Charles Noble

Nope, There no baby inside....

“Bukas Magdi-diet ako, hindi muna ako kakain… (I’ll be on diet tomorrow; I won’t eat for the mean time) Those are the words my friend utters when he found himself getting fat…  Then he will starve himself for a couple of hours within the day, only to find out that he is munching on pizza at the end of the day telling himself that he deserve a treat for dieting; and then the next day, he’ll find himself getting bigger and asking himself what he would need to do to get thin.

“I want to be a tri-athlete someday!” he said… and I was inspired by his thought so I trained myself so that I won’t be far behind when he’s already living his dream… Suddenly, I asked him to join me running one time and realized that he really never tried or haven’t started any of his plans.  I was disappointed trying to tell him that he can do it.  He said that he’s just taking it slowly and wouldn’t want to force his body. I agreed to him helplessly that day.  Time passed, and I’d never seen him do anything…

interested or determined?

So what’s my point?  I believe that fitness is not just a line segment.  It’s not a time line that will start today and end tomorrow.  It’s a never ending line that one needs maintain every time, all the time.  It’s not a stage or a season of the year because it’s summer but a lifestyle. I know we may sometimes eat a lot due to Christmas season but we should always have time to get back to ourselves and strive again for fitness.  It’s really a never ending battle.

You want to start today but don’t have the energy to do it?  Remember that there is great borderline between interest and determination.  You may say that you want to try running today and schedule it tomorrow but decline the next day because its raining cat’s and dogs and you’ll skip it until you lost the interest; however, if you are determined, you will go whatever it takes because you are determined.

I might not know what I’m saying or I’m just writing my thoughts out loud, but I do believe that at the end of the day, it’s still you who will decide.  Nobody can teaches anyone but himself.

My lunch... with rice?!
5 thoughts on “It’s a Lifestyle

  1. ” i want to be gwapo” oh, yeah i am already gwapo! 🙂 hehehehe

    these lines should not only be a mantra of some sort, but also a self-fulfilling prophecy, but also guide us to what we want to achieve 🙂

    in my case, i want to be a marathoner (like argow! hahaha) so by tomorrow, i will fulfill my destiny to be one! 🙂

    it does entail mental toughness to keep focused on the goal, and at the same time, be more conscious on what one wants to achieve 🙂

    in this light, i can only say is

    (are you ready for this?)

    ayot? APIR! 🙂

    see you bro!

  2. “I believe that fitness is not just a line segment. ”

    – The geek in me is liking this statement very much! 🙂 Katulad ako ng friend mo 😀 Buti na lang andyan si Julie at Lally para mangulit sa king tumakbo 😀

Leave a Reply

