To the Abode of the Gods… The Great Olympus! (Condura Run 2010 – 1st Half)

‘Twas another memorable quest when the argonaut once again dared to enter the abode of the gods… the Olympus!

The Argonauts with the Nymphs of Takbo.ph

Another sleepless night… Good thing I slept more the day before the big day so I feel that I am more conditioned from my last run where in I challenged the not so worthy Morpheus.

Oh we don't want the sun king "Helios" burn us to death...

I arrived at the Great Hall of Bonifacio High Street minutes passed 3AM with the nymph Tracy.  Busloads of people were already there, all excited at the gun start for the 42Km, 21K, 10K and 5K.  Meeting with the other Argonauts, we bid each other good luck.  I believe that one is important… Those words of encouragement coming from your comrades.

Welcome Condura Marathon!

Blazing Fireworks in the sky were seen before the start to surprise the runners who wants to dare and we were all running after that.  Most people are trying to strategize by running at their own comfortable pace at first.  I was with my comrade Gab along the way for we have discussed that we’re going to pull each other’s leg during the race until one of us quits.  Mark Hernandez, Jixee were running with us for a couple of Km until Gab and I forwarded in our comfortable pace. 

Running along side with Gab

Reaching Kalayaan, we saw the formidable team Dragon Bong Z.  I told Gab that we should sneak out so that we wouldn’t be eaten easily by them.  We galloped when the light of Apollo was not present; both of us were laughing at the competition for the trio are indeed motivating us not to stop.

Olympus… The mouth of Olympus was already right before our eyes.  Both of us are having Goosebumps the moment we cross its threshold making us even more excited.  It was darkness as we ascend.  Good thing the God of Light somewhat shed some light through her sister’s emblem … the moonlight.  We are still running at our comfortable pace when the sun-king Helios was up.  At the Olympus, you can see nothing but the blue clear sky, both of us amazed at our feat. We saw Wilnar and Chris speeding, Bryan, Carly, Tina, Glen, Totoy, Dennis, Luis and Sam.  When it’s our time to turn, Gab mentioned that it will be the time how far are we from the DBZ.  Until we realize that they are just lurking behind us.  They weren’t doing so bad after all so we need to be on our guards. 

Don't be deceived... They are damn ferocious!

Km 25. A sign of the Nymph Vicky was present and so with the Running Ninja Sam before we reach the highest point of Olympus.   I stopped and walk the moment I reach that point and uttered that there’s no way I’m going to run this part for it will truly drained me a lot. 

Around Km 27, I stopped, for Zeus lightning had stricken me.  I was immobile for a few seconds and agony is all I can feel.  Gab who was a few meters ahead of me had already moved forward and so I was alone already. I don’t know what to do… I was already having a hard time. Zeus will definitely not stop until I crawl and stop…  It was a punishment for daring him to gatecrash at his abode.  The shoe that Hermes had given me is not giving me anymore drive.  I was already injured… My dream of reaching my goal is starting to shatter, the Fates are laughing at me now and Hades dark chariots are rampaging to arrest me.  Poor Argonaut is about to be sent to the underworld…

to be continued…

photos from Bryan Rivera, Carmen Cabiles, Carlo Serrano

16 thoughts on “To the Abode of the Gods… The Great Olympus! (Condura Run 2010 – 1st Half)

  1. haha, galing na mag-trash talk ni ellen. earl taught you well! hahaha. 😀
    congrats, rodel! you didn’t look like you were wasted in the last few kilometers when we saw you. 🙂

  2. *RAWR!*

    yes we’re ferocious!

    hihi… no you ain’t hallucinating! ikaw talaga ang yardstick namin. haha! =P

    see you sa next.. part of this post! =D

  3. parang kang MAKATA rodel, naway ikaw ay lalo pang makapag-sulat ng mga makabuluhang aral sa mga mananakbo! congrats bro!

    Junar

Leave a Reply

