The Unbreakable Oath (Condura Marathon 2nd Half)

Struggling...

Never say never… that’s what I keep thinking… but how will you go on if every step would be pain?  Alas, there came an old man informing me that he is a descendant of the argonaut named Nestor.  He told me that I need to move to lessen the pain that bolt of lightning Zeus had cast upon me. I did what he said and it did work for me… at least it made me moved for a couple of kilometers.  He left me when he thinks I should be fine…

Z and Pepsi roving near the skyway...

Km 31… I had hit my wall that quick. I must have really lost a lot of essential glycogen in my body; despite of the ambrosia (GU) that RJ another argonaut had given me when I saw him along the way.  The mead that the naiad Cindy has given me seemed not to affect on me anymore… I think it must just have been my will to go on and to the vow I have made in the river of unbreakable oath Styx that I will do a sub-5 even if I break my leg.  I was about to exit to Olympus when the muses Z and Pepsi handed me something to eat and drink. 

Feeling the 2nd Wind?

Km 33…  The atmosphere was entirely filled with joy for I have seen Pan the musician’s band, trying to energize the runners like me. The aid station made it indeed alive.  Macoy who was a disciple of Asclepius the God of medicine was there spraying ointments to those who are in need.  While being treated by Macoy, Raff from the breed of the sprinter Atalanta galloped away.  I tried bumping him just to let him acknowledge my presence.  I ran along side with him for a few meters until another pain in my calf.  Raff offered his help but I refused told him to proceed.

Alarmed at Raff Outrunning me...

Friends I knew were also struggling suffering the same fate I had.  Some were bitten by Cerberus, the three headed dog, others were kicked by centaurs and others were frozen by the Gorgon Medussa. 

Km 37… I saw Luis on the road.  Who gave me the impression like he was punished the same way Zeus punished Atlas carrying the earth on his shoulders.  Upon talking and running alongside with him, Joyce from team BZ bumped me! Oh no, how could she be at still her pace when everyone seemed so tired.  I panicked and ran trying to catch up but my legs were already stiff… Nymph Vicky and Prince of Marikina also caught up with us, and then Ellen who never faltered for her pace was still natural. Team Bongz had already passed before me… The cold war between us had ended for they have won this battle…   But wait! I still have my own battle to finish, the one I swore in Styx… To finish below 5 hours.

Km 41… Despite of agony, Luis and Vicky sprinted the final Kilometer.  I no longer tried doing the same for I already feel sick…

Tere was just behind for back up...

400m… 300… 200…  Teresa one of Ares horsemen asked me to speed up, I told her I can’t but she told me to do my best and she will catch me on the finish line (If I fell)

Finish Line Post Pic

4:58:01, my official time in this marathon…tere immediately assisted me after finishing together with Chelly. The great hall was packed with happy finishers despite of the hardships we have encountered…many of them congratulated me but I can’t hear anymore and I need to sit down. 

100% wasak!!!

Gail helped me out in stretching my muscles until I was relieved… and then it hit me the moment I somewhat recovered, I did a sub-5.  A 15min improvement from my previous marathon…  Ellen, Joyce, Gab and Raff congratulated me after and then I went to the booth were the children of Nike the goddess of victory is giving away medals to all those who finished.

 

Gail to the rescue on my still existing cramps... thank you!!!

It was indeed a tiring day for daring to be at the abode of the Gods and go back from where I started.  I encountered surprises along the way which could almost make me fall, yet because of my sheer determination and will. I was able to achieve what I want to be…

Thank you guys for the motivation...
with the takbo.ph girls!
Photo Ops with Team BZ, Jix and Mac
takbo.ph boys with Patcon

 Acknowledgment to my friends and family for moral support, to the Nataniel Garcia, Brando Losaria, Jinoe Gavan, Edu Fabian, Paolo Baldisimo for the pictures taken in this blog, to takbo.ph and Renier Pacific for the support. Team CB on our training and efforts on weekends are also helpful. Calibre 45 Ultra-longrun, Cardiac Hills LSD gace me more endurance. I wouldn’t have made it so far without your presence.  Again, THANK YOU!!!

To the new marathoners, I am also proud of you for finishing it. Congratualtions!

The badge of pure effort...

To Ellen, Bongz Joyce and Gab, let’s bring it on! How about a 10K dash???

9 thoughts on “The Unbreakable Oath (Condura Marathon 2nd Half)

  1. congratulations rodel! nice post and i luv the pics — bagay! =)

    what matters is that we finished the marathon with our own exciting personal stories that we’ll always remember! =D

    haha.. coach bong has given the blessing.. bring it on then!

    =P

  2. Haha. Naks, congrats on the sub-5, Rodel! 😀
    Cheers to more marathons and good luck on your 10k dash dare to Team BZ! (they may look like angels, but they’re speed monsters!) haha.

Leave a Reply

