Perdition of Dream (My Milo Story)

Perseverance is not a long race; it is many short races one after another.

Prince: I LOVE MARATHON!!!

I am not utterly certain when I did start my training. I have really wanted to do Milo Marathon right after Condura Marathon but of course due to my desire to join BDM, TNF and PAU, everything started on the 2nd week of May.

I pulled running buddies like Earl and Allan on the preparation and did an average of 50 to 65 Km per week.  Those were really hard-hitting weeks entailing us to do long runs at the end of the week or during Thursday nights. I really want to improve my marathon time to at least 15 minutes or more…  Athena provided me so much wisdom and Eros to combust my passion to pursue my reverie. 

Come race day…  It was an all out flat route except for the flyovers. It was said that grotesque creatures were there and can suck out the power of your hamstrings on those parts. I ignored it, for I know they were just a measly pixie; however, I didn’t in actual fact realize that 10 of those could give me a great mischief.

Takbo.ph gang

My first 15 Km was just right, and so with my next 11Kilometers; however, lurking beasts started to assault me on the last loop.  I endlessly skipped at Zeus lightning despite of my hamstrings fatigue. The sun-god Helios boasted his strength of sunlight.  Good thing that the takbo.ph naiads, nymphs and mortals were there to offer support.  Merely seeing those joyful faces had already provided me more will to push trough. 

Takbo.ph-AnR Alabang in the last 3K photo: by July Pauli

Ultimately, I finished the race at 4:53:55; it was a little over four-minute improvement on my last marathon.  I felt defeated at the finish line for I have underestimated the route. The dream for the fifteen-minute improvement all went to perdition. I tried to contemplate and evaluate myself after the race, thinking if I really had given my 100% potential. 

Anyway, I am pleased I completed the race with all honesty.  I did not ride a chariot to dash, employed a doppelganger to run for me or teleported like the gods and goddesses of Olympus.  I finished the battle with valor; having faster time maybe a gauge of fitness and rapidity, but it’s finishing the race that quantifies manliness.

CB bib photo by takbo.ph

 

Again, I acknowledged all my friends who were there for support.  Takbo.ph,Team CB and AnR Alabang.  May God bless you always…

7 thoughts on “Perdition of Dream (My Milo Story)

  1. Woaahh Argow, nose-bleed ang utak ko sa mga names na binanggit mo! pero good thing may natutunan ako, hehe!

    Congrats on your Milo Marathon, let’s run together soon at aNR 🙂

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE THE WAY YOU WRITE, ARGO!

    Congratulations on a good and strong finish! Love the hair color too 😉 Very creative! 😀

    hope to catch up with you at the RunFest 🙂

Leave a Reply

