The Wrath of the Sun-God Helios (The CAMSUR Marathon Adventure)

Patience is not only a virtue, but an acquired trait.

The Illusion

The thought of CAMSUR is wonderful… Just right enough to enjoy the Beach and Wakeboarding at the famous CWC.  Zeus ordered Baccus the god of wine to put us to an illusion that running the CAMSUR marathon would be inviting… To make it look like a good chance to hit out best because of the flat route…  Most of us were trapped into that illusion.

Marathon and Half-Marathon Newbies

Yes, we were lured into the illusion of paradise.  Out of town… Fresh Air…  A number of my companions registered for Half marathon and Marathon  unaware of what will really happen to us.

Goodluck Bash to Our Neo-half Marathoners and Marathoners

We trained for the event.  Agreed… But the question is if are we really prepared for it?

The Start.

The race started before the Sun-God Helios comes out.  I really planned of running at 6-minute pace until I fade but I had this uncomfortable feeling right from the start of the race.  I was not able to warm-up because the chariot that brought us to the starting mark arrived barely 5-minutes before the race started.  It end up in a run-walk pace right from the start of the race.  I told myself that maintaining a 6:35 pace should be good enough.

The 42-K route

It was dark…  and I wish it was just like that; however, Zeus the god who always want to challenge the adventurers ordered Helios go shine as early as it could and let display his flambouyant light.

I maintained my pace despite of discomfort until Km 30.  I was having a hard-time but I don’t want to whine about it. Blocking the pain and happy thoughts is what all I have in my mind.  Good thine the mortals watching us cheered the best way they could.  Greeting us everytime they saw us and giving us their best cheer and applause.  Children even gave us High Fives!

My team who waited for us in the finish line

Km 30…  The wrath of Helios was inevitable.  It eventually over-powered me as my pace started to decline.  Good thing that another mortal gave me 3 salt pills along the race which I took strategically.  I didn’t take any food except to my only energy gel that I took at Km 21 (I took the first before the race started) and some bananas provided by the organizer.  Water is the only hydration that I drank for I am afraid on to get some carbonated drink that the race had in every hydration stations.

A female runner who fainted somewhere along the route being helped by out takbo.ph friends

Another good thing is that Athena blessed me with wisdom so I managed to go on kilometer per kilometer despite of my fading pace.  I even passed a couple of runners who were already suffering from the thunderbolt casted by Zues against them and from the venom of the gorgon-Medusa that turned their feet into stone.

Arrived

 I eventually arrived at the finishline after five hours of my run-walk strategy.  Despite of not beating my personal best, I am still glad about this for I have enjoyed this race.  

Post race picture... BLAH!

All of us compalined about the heat.  It was terribly hot that day yet good thing no one gets hurt.   I am also glad to see my friends to finish the race.  They were winners in their own right. Indeed that no sun-god can  beat our wisdom and determination to finish.

Takbo.ph friends who finished the race!

Thank God (the real one)  who made this day who gave me another opportunity to express my will and strength.  It was undeniably a wonderful day.

The race gave us a real BLAH!

Congratulations to my firends who just finished their first half marathon and marathons.  You made us proud! 

Acknowledgment to Joyce Morisson, Runner’s Run and Brando Losaria on some pictures that I have used. Thanks also to my dear friend Cherry who used my Camera to get some real action shots!

5 thoughts on “The Wrath of the Sun-God Helios (The CAMSUR Marathon Adventure)

Leave a Reply

