Featured Thoughts: When Quitting is a Good Thing

If you must play, decide on three things at the start: the rules of the game, the stakes, and the quitting time… – Chinese Proverbs

I give up, but Ill have you for breakfast tomorrow!

 A quitter never wins and a winner never quits!  True in every sense and that’s everyone says… The word quit should never exist in our vocabulary.  On second thought, does it really have to be that way?  Should we really push ourselves to our limits until we fall from weariness? 

In my honest opinion, NO!

I bet that this requires an honest-to-goodness evaluation of a runner. Am I pushing my self too hard? Do I really have that Simply-Wilnar-esque ability?  We continue hammering away and pushing ourselves to the limit until we realize that that we are only Feeling-Wilnar.  We have just injured ourselves!

Simply Wilnar in his early days in running turned champion in 1st BDM 160K Ultrmarathon

So what is my point?  Quiting can still be an option.  All we need to know is WHEN! When would be the time quiting is still good?

Anyway, there’s still tomorrow another day to prove again what you can.

Disclaimer: This is just one of my senseless thoughts and I am just thinking outloud. hehe! 

5 thoughts on “Featured Thoughts: When Quitting is a Good Thing

  1. Ouch. I know this is about running, but I can’t help but get affected. I was THIS close from finishing my MA degree (as in candidacy exam and thesis na lang) but I still decided to quit. I’m just not happy anymore. I wasn’t the same girl who applied for the course anymore.

    Anyway, what does Ate Evelyn tell you each time? Does she tell you to quit…or hinay-hinay lang? =P

  2. Hmmm, parang sayang naman ata yun… I think you should go back. Again, you know when to quit dapat, You think you did not loose anything after quiting?

    Re: Evelyn, she didnt tell me anything. hehe!

  3. I love this topic. I know everyone had their own quitting moments. Specially when the going gets tough and the tough gets going. In life I had quitted many times in different events and circumstances.What I believe is every time you quit you stop then think of the circumstances or challenges that you are in then analyze and calculate the risk that you need to take to keep going. Life all in all is a challenge like a race or any battle but make sure before quitting you have worn out all your energy and resources then your last option is to quit. Anyways we only live once why quit anyways.

Leave a Reply

