Trekking Pinatubo

The poetry of the earth is never dead.  ~John Keats

The photo would be even better without me but I need this photo op! XD

 T’was raining that early morning when we the bus took off, puzzled at the thought of making it there but we have decided to pursue.  We can always go back anyway and at least we have tried.  Everything is set up and there’s no turning back.  Thanks to the organizers “AKYAT PINATUBO” and their sponsors for setting up this event.   My failed plans in going to this place finally came to reality.

The four wheel drive adventure could be scary when it passes through a soft, wet and muddy ground!
The trek started riding a four-wheel drive.  I haven’t seen anything yet but things are getting better and better each time we pass the muddy trail.  It was a little scary sometimes when passing through a soft ground, afraid that we might fall off or the jeep would turtle roll (I could sometimes turn paranoid).
It was raining! Yeah it is...
We stopped the moment the four-wheel drive could no longer move towards the rocky part, ’twas our time to walk.  I’m not sure but they said it was an “8Km” trail.  I can do that in less than an hour but becuase it’s raining,  I’m on sandals,  It’s rocky and I’m picture taking, I bet it would take us more than two hours.
Water flow made the trek even harder.
It’s funny that the weather is acting weird that time.  It would rain and stop, rain again and stop.  I am no hard core mountaineer or trekker so I find it a little hard for me; however, it was not a good time to whine about it, for I know I have a high tolerance on discomforts.
It would be fun to at least sit and enjoy the view.
Well, a little break should be fine…. 🙂
Half way, I guess...
As we move,  things are turning out to be even better, the sun is showing up now.  We are just a bit tired though, but this is peanut compared to a marathon.
Other than us, there are animals like goats and cows that roams around the area.
Mushrooms living on some tree trunk
During our trek,  other than water and rocks,  there are some stuff that we saw as well.   Goats and cows were roaming around the place, probably their shepherds put them there in search for grasses to eat.  Moss and mushrooms were visible also due to its moist ambiance.
Going up the crater now, on the sign I will know how will I be classified.
At last we came to the final pit stop,  and from there you will see a sign that classifies your level when you go up to the crater of Pinatubo.
The Majestic
Closer look
It's swimming time!!!
Like on a race, it was a total relief when you’ve reach finish line.  That’s the same feeling when we  had reached the crater.   We sat, swam, had picnic and enjoyed looking at its beauty like as if we were reading the poetry of nature.  Peaceful, Calm, Serene…
Running friends who joined me at "AKYAT PINATUBO"
So much of enjoying the place, but we need to go back.  8Km of trek again but it was easy for us this time.  The rain was over, me at picture-taking-mode no more, so I can now do what I want to do…  To RUN!
Oh well, not really running all through out but I did ran it, and made my running friends envy me and so they ran as well until we reached the jump off and to rest at the jeep. I came in first!  haha!
BDM Memory

Surprisingly, AKYAT PINTUBO  organizers mentioned that there will be a side trip.  Camp O’ Donell is nearby and it would be good to at least take some snap of the location.  BDM memories, flashed the moment we arrived.  We fooled around by doing this finish-line-last-few-meter-dash, took snaps of the place until we call it a day.

I slept tired with a smile that night.
4 thoughts on “Trekking Pinatubo

Leave a Reply

