Featured Thoughts: “Life of Pi”

“When you suffered a great deal in life, each additional pain is both unbearable and trifling…” – Yann Martel

Life of Pi Poster
Life of Pi Poster

As I was browsing through what movie could I watch over the weekend. I came across this movie “Life of Pi”. It puzzled me for a moment what this movie is all about, I don’t want to put my money into waste so I thought of checking its synopsis and check what is it all about.

The film was based on a novel by Yann Martel and was directed by Ang Lee, a well known director of movies Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon and Hulk; so this should be good. As I watched its trailer, a saw the sense of the movie so I decided to go for it.

The movie is actually all about the teen-agers post shipwreck life losing his family from a thunderstorm and his quest for survival. And the dillema, he has to live with a full grown Bengal Tiger!

For 227 days, he managed to live in an environment like that…. I couldn’t just imagine myself if I was in his position. Maybe I’ll do the same but I am not entirely sure if my sanity will keep me alive.

Glimpse of the scene (grabed from nytimes.com)
Glimpse of the scene (grabed from nytimes.com)

The movie itself has thought me to thank life even more. I am totally humbled for most of the time complained about my ordeal, about how things that don’t work according to my will. How torn my pair of shoes are and not seeing the man who doesn’t even have feet. I also appreciate life’s wisdom shared in the movie and the way it teaches us to hope, and hope even more but do something about it.

These are just few of my favorites quote from the movie:

 I suppose in the end, the whole of life becomes an act of letting go, but what always hurts the most is not taking a moment to say goodbye.

If every unfolding we experience takes us further along in life, then, we are truly experiencing what life is offering.

Above all… it is important not to lose hope…

Check out more quotes of Yann Martel and the New York Times Review.

Check out also the trailer of the movie:

If you’re into a movie about life, this is for you.

What next for me? Maybe I should read the book…

3 thoughts on “Featured Thoughts: “Life of Pi”

  1. The movie features transformative 3-D visuals and a CGI tiger so beautiful, tactile and lifelike its reality is never in doubt. But Lee’s greatest accomplishment is to blend his hero’s inner adventure with his external one. He keeps the parable simple without fearing larger, poetic ideas.

  2. Yes, Del, one’s situation is never bad if compared to others and glad you learned it from the movie. A co-incidence, but only a few minutes ago I responded to a comment posted on my FB and I would like to share it here:

    ” It is for this reason that I am very open in sharing my health escapades – for others to learn to appreciate how lucky they are for having only something very simple – and yet majority will take it as if it is already the end of the world. I have been aware of how people react to simple aches and pains and I am happy to note that I do inspire people to change their attitude towards their affliction. It should actually be taken as something given by God to keep us strong, an opportunity one should always be thankful for. And I did realize that people who suffer from more serious disease are there for us to appreciate our own mundane situation. Whenever I am in the verge of emotional collapse because of a recent health scare, I just think of one boy – Cesar – who is suffering more as he is bedridden, paralyzed and dependent on oxygen through a ventilator. He always makes me strong and able to withstand whatever difficulty I face. Hope you can also continue to learn from my experiences. . .”

    1. couldn’t agree more with your thoughts tita Freda, Surely, what you are encountering right now would surely pass. As the saying goes, everything will be ok in the end, if it is not, then, it is not yet the end.
      Continue to inspire us Tita Freda! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

