20 Weekends of Non-Procastination

Time you enjoy wasting is time not wasted.

procastination
Point of View! – (photo from your-e-cards)

Whew, Time flew so fast, I didn’t even notice that the year is about to end.  Soo we will bid goodbye to 2016 and welcome 2017. I didn’t write much on my blog as I have a mixed emotions of laziness in writing, being upbeat on my alleged trainings, active in Toastmasters, writing speeches, working… and many more (lol).

But let me look back on all the races that I have done!

  1. January 31 – Yeouido Marathon – 5:24

The race began at 10AM, -6C. Han River was frozen.  Two loops of 21k.  Got lost at the final kilometer due to disorientation.  I don’t really like this race because the road was opened and we shared the road with the bikers which was quite scary.

  1. March 1 – Ulsan Marathon – 5:06

Good View of Ulsan!  Run with my friend Laejin Park.

  1. March 20 – Seoul “DongA” Marathon – 5:11

Finally ran in the city of Seoul. It was a packed event!

  1. March 27 – Jeju Marathon – 5:13

Probably my sore condition after Seoul Marathon made it worse. Got to see and interact with many old runners in Korea (respect!). Ran with Jinoe (Founder of Takbo.ph).  Weather was still cold at that time but of course, manageable. The beauty of Jeju is definitely spectacular!

  1. April 10 – Gunsan Marathon – 4:58

There were so many cherry blossom trees around Korea, I have thought about Kyungju well, but for a change, I checked out Gunsan. The road is relatively flat and it was indeed a friendly atmosphere.

  1. May 15 – Daegu Olympic Tri – 3:17

First triathlon of the season. I joined a triathlon group called Seoul Synergy!  A year ago, I clocked 3:42 in this race and I was almost the last of the pack. Fortunately, I did better in every category.

  1. May 24 – Pohang Olympic Tri – 3:09

This is one of my most memorable event.  I won a wetsuit that costs around $500. Though I struggled during the bike ride, this is my Personal Best (PB) in an Olympic course.

  1. June 12 – Gwangali to Haeundae 5K swim – 2:0X

While this is not a race, this event was still quite remarkable for me as I swam my longest distance in swimming. We wore fins though which is quite easier.  I swan with my swimming group, 9-Fin.

  1. June 17 – Busan Half Ironman – DNF

It was a bad race right from the start of the event.  It was foggy in the morning and waves were high during the swim course, thus making the swim course short by the organizers. The bike was a terrible hill (for me).  I tried my best to cope up but, at km 53 of my bike pursuit, I had a flat tire. I got some spare and asked some volunteers to help; unfortunately, odds were not really on my favor as the spare blew up as well. This was my 4th failure in a half ironman event.

  1. July 3 – Sokcho Olympic Tri – 3:24

Oh this race… The race was remarkable but what’s more fascinating was my travel to Sokcho as I drove 500Km from Busan and back.  It was a bit tough as I got lost going to the place and it was raining as I return.  I felt so tired during specially in running. What good about this race was I was able to help someone by lending my spare wetsuit to him.

  1. July 17 – Gunsan Great Man Triathlon (Half Distance) – 7:42

Finally, a half distance event that I have completed though it’s just a local event and not an Ironman, but who cares!  The swim course is quite tough here but with my determination to complete the race, I did it!

  1. August 15 – Uljin Olympic Triathlon – 3:22

Triathlon in summer in Korea is really bad.  Or probably I’m no longer used to it. I had few mishaps in this event as I failed to get a room thus making me sleep in my car.  Tired, tired, tired, but there’s no one to complained with. Oh well.

  1. September 4 – Kyungju Olympic Triathlon – 3:15

Weather is getting better and so is my time as I slowly catch up. I did this race a year ago and felt that I performed better in the swim course.

  1. September 25 – Gurye Ironman – 6:42

This is my redemption race from a failed ironman event a year ago, where I had a flat tire at Km 15. Thankfully, this time I prepared as hard as I could and ensured that I won’t have another bad luck. I did it!

  1. October 1 – Ultra Trail Mount Jiri (55K) – 15:19

I was quite tensed in this event as I was trying to comeback from Ultrarunning… trail-ultrarunning.  The good thing was, I met a number of runners, Hyonsim (who joined the race) and Jeongho and they helped me a lot in grasping a few trails in Busan.  It was quite a fun experience.

  1. October 16 – Gwangali to Seongjeong 10K swim (Race Stopped)

This was supposed to be a 10K event, but a week ago, a tsunami occurred in the coastline of Busan and it was raining at that time.  Surprisingly, the organizers made a go signal to proceed only to cut the race in Haeundae – We manage to swim a little over 5km in 2hrs. Though the event was canceled, the decision was still a good call.

  1. October 22 – Teongyeong ITU – 3:23

This was the last triathlon of the year in Korea.  I did the same race a year ago and I for sure had a hard time. I managed to cut my time by 19 minutes in this course.

  1. November 12 – Baekyangsan Challenge 25K – 4:22

I was just thinking of races to join and found this event. It was organized by a man named Mike Noonan who I believe did a lot of effort in bringing this race for us. We normally hiked in this mountain but I never really tried running it. I discovered a great temple and made me admire Busan more. We got a beer glass as a memento, and a victory party in a local beer brewery pub.

19. November 20 – Changwon Marathon – 4:38

There’s no more triathlon, so I’m back to just… running… lol! One of my swimming teammates was there to run a half marathon, and told me that I should try my best to run 4:30.  Apparently, I did but after discovering that I missed my chip… I lost the enthusiasm and was most for the last part of the race.

  1. December 3 – Busan Galmegi 100K Ultramarathon – 15:11

I really dared to exceed my limit for my last race of the year. A 100K race.  91 participated the event but… wait, I blogged about it already – so… 🙂

Wow!  20 weeks of craziness.  People had various reactions on what I do, they say I am crazy, or wasting my time, my money, whatever but for me, I am just glad that I did it;  I didn’t really thought that I can do these things and realized that I am so good in underestimating my true potential.

I am so excited for the next year to come as I booked 5 races until March.  We’ll see.  For sure, the best is yet to come.

Leave a Reply

